Virat Kohli: 2023 ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli adjudged ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year award

In the world of cricket, certain names refer to excellence and unparalleled skill. One such name is Virat Kohli, the Indian cricketing legend who clinched the prestigious ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year award for his exceptional performance in the 2023 season. This accolade not only highlights his mastery of One Day Internationals (ODIs) but also cements his status as a luminary in the cricket world.

Virat Kohli’s Remarkable 2023 Journey

Virat Kohli’s journey throughout the 2023 season was nothing short of extraordinary. With a total of 1,377 runs in ODIs, he showcased exceptional batting that became a milestone for the Indian cricket team. His impressive numbers, which included six centuries and eight half-centuries, were proof of his consistent high-level performance.

The highlight of the year was Virat Kohli surpassing the legendary Sachin Tendulkar’s record of ODI centuries, a milestone that will be remembered for years to come.

The World Cup Phenomenon

The 2023 World Cup, held in India, was a stage where Virat Kohli’s brilliance shone brightest. Earning the Player of the Tournament title, he scored a record 765 runs in 11 matches, guiding India to the World Cup final. This performance shows his batting genius and his ability to thrive under pressure, a trait synonymous with cricket greatness.

Virat Kohli’s Legacy and ICC Accolades

This award marked the fourth time Virat Kohli has been honored with the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year, following his wins in 2012, 2017, and 2018. His career, adorned with seven individual ICC honors, reflects a legacy of consistency and dominance in the sport.

The Elite Shortlist

Virat Kohli’s victory came amidst fierce competition. The shortlist for the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year included compatriots Shubman Gill and Mohammed Shami, and New Zealand’s Daryl Mitchell. While Australian captain Pat Cummins won the Cricketer of the Year Award, Virat Kohli’s record-breaking ODI achievements were rightfully recognized with the ODI Cricketer of the Year honor.

Other Notable Winners

The year also saw other cricket stars shining brightly. Australian pacer Pat Cummins was honored with the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy. Usman Khawaja of Australia clinched the Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year, while England’s Nat Sciver-Brunt secured the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for Women’s Cricketer of the Year. Sri Lanka’s Chamari Athapaththu received the Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year award, making history for her country.


Virat Kohli’s 2023 season was a blend of skill, determination, and historic achievements. His ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year award is a befitting recognition of his talent and contribution to the sport. As he continues to inspire and awe, Kohli’s legacy in cricket remains indelible, reminding us of the sheer brilliance that one individual can bring to the global stage of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *